The National Employment Standards

Q. I keep hearing about the National Employment Standards in relation to employment? I have no idea what this means can you tell me what this is as i am struggling to understand? Should i already know what this is?

A: NES stands for National Employment Standards. These employment standards are the minimum employment entitlements that have to be provided to all employees by their employer. The national minimum wage and the NES make up the minimum entitlements for employees in Australia.

  • The 10 minimum entitlements of the NES are:
  • Maximum weekly hours
  • Request for flexible working arrangements
  • Parental leave and related entitlements
  • Annual leave
  • Personal carers leave and compassionate leave
  • Community service leave
  • Public holidays
  • Notice of termination and redundancy pay
  • Fair Work Information Statement.

For further information on these standards you can find more information on the Fair Work Ombudsman website or otherwise if you want over the phone assistance call Industryus HR on 07 5655 4047 or click here to arrange a Free Introductory Call through our website in relation to your company’s obligations and the NES. At Industryus we are more than happy to assist with all your needs and questions to get in contact with a HR specialist give us a call.

Back to News